Activities · Animals · Nannying

Homemade bird feeders

This week my nanny child and I made some homemade bird feeders. It’s very simple and you don’t need many items at all. It’s a nice little activity to do with children to encourage them to be interested in wildlife.

You need:

  • Unflavoured gelatine powder
  • Wild bird feed
  • Water
  • Cookie cutters

Method:

  1. First you need to mix the gelatine powder in a saucepan with a little bit of water. I used two sachets of the picture above. 
  2. Once blended in mix in the bird feed. Take off the heat and let cool a little.
  3. Meanwhile, pick the cookie cutters you would like to use. We picked a car, a train, a gingerbread man, a teddy bear, a star and square. Set the cookie cutters flat on a plate.
  4. Once the mixture had cooled enough, I let my three year old nanny charge spoon the mixture into the cookie cutters. We used a straw to poke a hole at the top of each bird treat so once dried we could add some string through to hang up.
  5. Once you have spooned the mixture into the cookie cutters just pop the plates into the fridge for at least an hour.

I think they look really sweet! Let me know how it goes for you and feel free to share what shapes you decide to pick!

19 thoughts on “Homemade bird feeders

  1. These are such a good idea, I’d never think about making these myself. I’ll definitely have to let my parents know as love feeding the birds in the garden x

    Like

  2. What a wonderful idea! My parents have lots of bird feeders at they house and really enjoy watching them. I think I’ll make a few of these for my mom for Mother’s Day. Guaranteed she’ll love them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh these are lovely. I like doing these sorts of things with my daughter and it looks fairly simple so I’ll give them a go. She’s going to love it, thank you xx

    Like

Leave a comment