Days out

Downinbury Farm and Fun in the Sun

This week in Kent has been full of sunshine, it’s been wonderful. Most of this week I have been getting my nanny children out in the sun (obviously sun creamed up first) as much as possible. The mandatory paddling pools have been pumped and filled, sand pits out and water play trays been pulled out, what could be better? Oh yes, having fun in the sun at Downinbury Farm!

Downinbury Farm

Besides from staying in the garden soaking up the sun, on Friday I took one of my nanny children to Downinbury Farm in Pembury. At Downinbury farm you can pick your own fruit and one of my nanny children – the one I took – adores his fruit. Unfortunately we couldn’t find any strawberries, but there were lots of raspberries, blackberries and blackcurrants.

We picked lots of raspberries and blackberries, as well as testing some out too first! We both tried blackcurrants for the first time too but we both agreed they tasted a bit yucky.

In the end we had two massive punnets, one full of raspberries and the other blackberries and it only came to about £6. In supermarkets that would have easily cost £15-20 and we had the pleasure of picking out our own.

Downinbury farm has a farm shop that sells lots of homegrown fruit and vegetables, cheeses, meats, pies and homemade fruit juices. We even treated ourselves to an ice cream which we enjoyed outside next to the children’s play area.

After a few hours at Downinbury farm we picked up the older brother and his friend from school. We headed home for a playdate and as a special treat we ordered in Dominos Pizza. We ended up playing out in the garden for the rest of the afternoon.

Summer holidays

One of my nanny families break up for their summer half term next week. This means 9 WEEKS of no school. We already have a couple of ideas of what we would like to do over the summer. Such as visiting GO APE with a friend and going bowling. I once took one of my charges a couple of years ago without his brother. I think his brother should be old enough to give bowling a try now too. I’m sure he would love to go in the arcades afterwards too.

I would love to hear what other ideas we could do. Or things you guys have planned with your children over the summer holidays!

Read some of my other posts here: outdoor activitiesrare breeds centre visithomemade bird treats or colour scavenger hunt.

Leave a comment