Fun Activities · Sensory Play

Dyed Spaghetti Play

Last week was a busy one. But our favourite activity last week was dyed spaghetti play!

This was the first time I actually tried it out and it’s very easy to make. You can make it in three easy steps.

You need:

  • Spaghetti
  • Food colouring
  • Sandwich bags
  • Oil

Method:

  1. Cook the spaghetti as per the instructions
  2. Once the spaghetti has cooked separate the spaghetti into separate sandwich bags and pop a few drops of food colouring in each separate bag
  3. Seal the sandwich bags and using your hands mix the food colouring into the spaghetti. Leave for at least 5 minutes. The longer you leave it, the brighter the colours will be.

Tip: You can add a little bit of oil to stop the spaghetti from sticking together!

Voila! In three simple steps you have made some dyed spaghetti, perfect for sensory play. I gave the three year old some scissors to encourage him to cut the spaghetti. A great way to encourage his scissor and motor skills.

Sensory play is important for your child’s learning and development as it stimulates all their senses. Sensory play also encourages your child to play, explore and investigate. Myself for one I love using sensory play to encourage children to learn. Not only is it great for their learning and development, it’s also therapeutic. Sensory play can have a calming influence on children.

28 thoughts on “Dyed Spaghetti Play

  1. I love sensory play! I do find sometimes I have a hard time making it last very long though… I care for a 4.5 year old and a nearly-2 year old – we do things with bubbles, slimes, mixes, etc. and it can be hard to keep them experimenting! I wonder if they’ll like this – definitely worth a try! 🙂
    Laura
    akaleidoscopeheart.com

    Like

  2. We love sensory play here at our house and this looks like a fantastic and easy activity! I would never have thought of this myself, but now I would like to try this out with my two littles. Thanks for the great idea!

    Like

    1. I have an older blog called mess free painting activity which he may enjoy as it doesn’t involve him getting his hands dirty (and a bonus for you being mess free!)

      Like

Leave a comment